Connect with us

Amor Magazine

Emeli Sande’s ‘Kingdom Coming’ EP Showcase


Emeli Sande’s ‘Kingdom Coming’ EP Showcase


We were privileged enough to be invited to attend the ‘Kingdom Coming’ EP showcase, an intimate live performance of Emeli’s latest music.

On gracing the stage, Emeli rocked her signature, gold earrings, red lips and big hair, and shared a beautiful story about her parents being in different countries when Emeli was a toddler.

Her parents wrote letters to one another and Emeli came across these years later which inspired her track ‘Soon’ which is my favourite song from the EP and the first one she sang. This set the mood for the rest of the music; deep, beautiful vocals, play on words, and sensual melodies.


Giggs also joined Emeli on the stage to perform their song ‘Higher’.

The track ‘Kingdom Coming’ that features Wretch 32 definitely got my attention, as it showcases a different side to Emeli’s music and personality. The lyrics portray her frustration about how highly she regards her parents, compared to their lives in reality, and goes onto give hope…
“Fuck that Daddy, you are a King and the Kingdom’s coming no more running, Fuck that Mummy, you are an angel and this ain’t no place, for an angel…”  – again a very strong track and one of my faves.

‘Kingdom Coming’ was released on 3rd November, and can be downloaded here.

1. Soon
2. Love Not war
3. Higher ft. Giggs
4. Deep
5. Starlight
6. Kingdom Coming

And if you wasn’t there, don’t worry, you can see the live show below.

More in Home

To Top