Connect with us

Amor Magazine

CFDA Fashion Awards


CFDA Fashion Awards


The CFDA Fashion Awards aims to recognise design excellence across the entirity of the industry. Every year the event is exceptional: a celebrity event attended by the likes of Anna Winter, Kim Kardashian and Chrissy Teigen.


This year saw some new and reoccurring winners. For women’s wear the winners were Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen for The Row and for mens wear the winner was no other then Tom Ford.


On the accessory side of things, Tabitha Simmons won.The value of winning a CFDA award is recognised in the fashion industry. Winning a CFDA award has helped the likes of designers like Zac Posen and Marc Jacobs gain more exposure and attention in the industry. For the Olsen twins, this is not their first time winning an award; they previously won in the same category in 2012, and 2014 they won the award for accessory design. The twins seems to have become a fan favourite of the CFDA. The award has come at the perfect time for the twins, as they prepare to launch their first store in NYC later this year.


This year’s CFDA awards were critiqued for seeming a bit too repetitive and predictable. Every designer in the women’s wear category (Mary Kate and Ashley, Michael Kors, Joseph Altuzarra, Marc Jacobs, and Jack McCollough and Lazara Hernandez of Proenza Schouler) have won the award at least once. 


The style icon award this year went to music producer and singer, Pharell Williams, who still refutes his status as a style icon, saying, “I’m not a style icon. I’m just inspired. I am other, and I am O.K. with that.” Despite its critics who say the event has become too predictable, it’s still quite an impressive event and a major part of the fashion calendar.

Words: Victoria Black

Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Fashion

To Top